Public Shooting Range Permit
Game Commission Extends Life of 2019-20 Shooting-Range Permits
Permit required for state game lands public shooting range users
Current hunting/furtaker license also provides range privilege
Those who shoot firearms at one of the Pennsylvania Game Commission’s state game lands public shooting ranges must possess and carry with them either an annual $31.90 range use permit or a current general hunting or furtaker license. Individuals without a range use permit or hunting or furtaker license will be fined.
Range permits are valid for a fiscal year (July 1-June 30).
Unlike online hunting and furtaker license purchases, range use permits will be printed at the time of purchase. Consequently, you must have a functioning printer for your personal computer to complete the permitting process. Range permits also can be purchased at the agency’s Harrisburg Headquarters and all six region offices, and require either a credit or debit card.
Exceptions to this new permit requirement are those 15 years of age and younger properly accompanied by a licensed or permitted person 18 years of age or older. Each licensed hunter or range permit holder may have one guest.
To purchase a range permit click on this link:
Buy a State Game Lands Shooting Range Permit.
Range permits and hunting or furtaker licenses do not need to be displayed while using a state game lands public shooting range, but must be in possession, as well as a secondary form of identification.
The Game Commission made costly repairs and renovations to the
29 State Game Land shooting ranges it operates throughout Pennsylvania. These projects included lead remediation, safety barrier reconstruction, shooting range redesign and other related work. The projects came at a high cost, but kept many shooting ranges open and available to the public.
Historically, hunter and furtaker license dollars have provided most, if not all, of the funding needed to keep the agency’s shooting ranges open to the public. But, in many cases, hunters and furtakers today are outnumbered on state game lands ranges by firearms enthusiasts who do not hunt or trap. The range permit fees ensure everyone who shoots at the agency’s ranges pays for their existence and operation.
Review the regulations that govern the Game Commission's state game lands shooting ranges in the PA Code.