Skip Navigation LinksPGC > Hunt & Trap > Hunter-Trapper Education

Pennsylvania Hunter Education

 

 
 
 

BASIC HUNTER-TRAPPER EDUCATION (HTE)

 

By law, all first-time hunters and trappers, regardless of age, must successfully complete Hunter-Trapper Education training before they can buy a Pennsylvania hunting or trapping license. A training certificate, which is recognized throughout North America, is awarded when you pass a test at the end of the course. You must be at least 11 years old to enroll in a class. Parents are encouraged to attend with their children. The training is designed to produce safe, responsible, knowledgeable and involved participants. The results of this program are remarkable. Since 1959, hunting-related shooting incidents have declined drastically. Hunting is safe and getting safer, thanks to hunter education.

 

TRAINING OPTIONS

 
  1. Complete your training in a classroom.  Register for a class using the Hunter Education Class Calendar. Use the Today's Hunter & Trapper in Pennsylvania study guide to complete the independent-study portion your class. You can register to take a 6-hour class requiring some pre-class independent study or an 8-hour class requiring some pre-class independent study and a skill-station format.
  2. Complete your training entirely online. This option is available only to students 16 years of age and older. This course can be taken on any device, including smart phones, tablets, and computers. Simply complete the Pennsylvania online course, print your temporary hunter education certificate (your permanent one will be delivered by mail), buy your license and hit the field! Sign up at Hunter-ed.com Pennsylvania, study for free, and pay only after you pass the final exam.
 

        Can't get enough! These videos complement both the in-class and online training options.

 

WHAT DOES THE COURSE INCLUDE?

 
  • Responsible hunting behavior
  • Basic firearm knowledge and safe handling
  • Wildlife conservation and management
  • Outdoor safety and survival
  • Basic and advanced hunting techniques
  • Trapping and furtaking basics
  • Basic shooting and safe hunting skills
  • Expanding your hunting opportunities
 

 

SUCCESSFUL BOWHUNTING

 
 
 

Be a better bowhunter! Improve your skills and increase your chances for success with this voluntary training. Successful Bowhunting expands upon the National Bowhunter Education Foundation's International Bowhunter Education Program. A training certificate, which is recognized throughout North America, is presented upon passing a written test at the end of the course. This course does not replace the Basic Hunter-Trapper Education (HTE) training. All first-time hunters must successfully complete Basic Hunter-Trapper Education before purchasing a general hunting license.

 

TRAINING OPTIONS

  1. Complete your training in a classroom.  The in-person Successful Bowhunting course has two components – (1) independent study and (2) classroom/skills training. Students study online (Today's Bowhunter Study Guide) or may request a student manual to review before attending class. The independent-study component typically takes four to six hours to complete. When finished with the independent study, students must attend a 1-day, 8-hour class.  Enrollment is limited to 30 students per class. You must be at least 11 years old to enroll. Register for a class using the Successful Bowhunting Class Calendar.  If there are no classes listed in your area, contact the Game Commission region office serving your county for more information.
  2. Complete your training entirely online. This option is available only to students 16 years of age and older. This course can be taken on any device, including smart phones, tablets, and computers. Simply complete the Pennsylvania online course, print your temporary Bowhunter hunter education certificate (your permanent one will be delivered by mail) and hit the field! Sign up at Bowhunter-Ed Pennsylvania, study for free, and pay only after you pass the final exam.

 

What Does The Course Include?

  • Responsible bowhunting
  • Big game anatomy and shot placement
  • Map and compass basics
  • Distance estimation
  • Shooting basics and a 3-D field course
  • Hunting methods and techniques
  • Treestand use and safety
  • Big game recovery and care
 

 

SUCCESSFUL TURKEY HUNTING

 
 
 

Learn how to be a successful turkey hunter, both spring and fall! The Successful Turkey Hunting program will give you the skills and knowledge you need to really enjoy your next turkey hunting experience. A training certificate, which is recognized throughout North America, is presented upon passing a written test at the end of the course.

 

This course does not replace the Basic Hunter-Trapper Education (HTE) training. All first-time hunters must successfully complete Basic Hunter-Trapper Education before purchasing a general hunting license. If there are no classes listed in your area, contact the Game Commission region office serving your county for more information. Enrollment is limited to 24 students per class.  You must be at least 11 years old to enroll.

 

Register for a class using the Successful Turkey Hunting Class Calendar.

 

What Does The Course Include?

 

The Successful Turkey Hunting course has two has two components – (1) independent study and (2) classroom/skills training. Students study online or may request a student manual to review before attending class. The independent-study component typically takes four to six hours to complete. When finished with the independent study, students must attend a 1-day, 8-hour classroom session that includes:

 
  • Turkey hunting laws and regulations
  • Safe turkey hunting
  • Map and compass skills
  • Safe and effective shot selection
  • Turkey calls and calling
  • Turkey hunting methods
  • Distance estimation
  • Shotgun pattern testing
 

 

SUCCESSFUL FURTAKING & CABLE RESTRAINT CERTIFICATION

 
 
 

Be a better trapper! Improve your skills and increase your chances for success with this program based on the Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies standards for trapper training and their Best Management Practices. A training certificate, which is recognized throughout North America, is presented upon passing a written test at the end of the course. The training certificate allows furtakers to legally use cable restraints to take fox and coyotes in Pennsylvania.

 

This course does not replace the Basic Hunter-Trapper Education (HTE) training for furtakers who want to buy a hunting license to hunt furbearers. However, this training will enable you to purchase a furtaking license required to trap furbearers. If there are no classes listed in your area, contact the Game Commission region office serving your county for more information. Enrollment is limited to 36 students per class. There is no minimum age for this training.

 

Register for a class using the Successful Furtaking Class Calendar.

 

What Does The Course Include?

 

The Successful Furtaking course has two components – (1) independent study and (2) classroom / hands-on training. Students study online or may request a student manual to review before attending class. The independent study component takes about six to eight hours to complete, then, the student attends a 1-day, 6-hour classroom session that includes:

 
  • Best Management Practices (BMPs)
  • Furtaker ethics, laws and responsibility
  • Tools for successful furtaking
  • Cable devices
  • Trapline basics
  • Water sets
  • Land sets
 

 

BECOME A HUNTER EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR – PASS ON THE TRADITION.

 

The Game Commission is seeking knowledgeable and experienced individuals to teach both basic and advanced hunter education training programs. As a volunteer hunter education instructor, you'll be teaching students with an easy-to-use, standardized curriculum for which all teaching aids and materials are provided. Courses average six hours for a classroom format and eight hours for a skills station format.

 

Watch this short video to see if this is a volunteer opportunity you'd enjoy. Hunter Education Instructors must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED.

 

Be part of hunter education's success!

 

Since 1959, Pennsylvania has conducted hunter education courses. The results of more than five decades of training have been exceptional. With nearly 2 million students certified to date, statistics show hunting fatalities and injuries from firearms have declined by more than 80 percent. Hunter education is working and working well.

 

As an instructor, you'll enjoy:

 
  • Sharing your love of the outdoors with the next generation,
  • Serving your community, and
  • Promoting safe and responsible hunting and furtaking.
 

WHAT'S THE COMMITMENT?

 

As a volunteer hunter education instructor, you'll be teaching students with an easy-to-use, standardized curriculum for which all materials are provided. Classes average six to eight hours and may take place over several days. Volunteer instructors should have the ability to give 12 to 16 hours each year. Annual instructor training events and the opportunity to teach advanced classes, such as Successful Bowhunting (page anchor) and Successful Furtaking (page anchor) are also available.

 

WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS?

 

As a hunter education instructor, you'll enjoy:

 
  • Making new friends and hunting companions,
  • Exposure to new experiences,
  • Advanced training opportunities,
  • Discount offers from industry leaders in hunting equipment,
  • Complementary magazine subscriptions, and
  • Enhanced instructional and communication skills.
 

Request a volunteer instructor application packet online or by calling the Pennsylvania Game Commission's Hunter-Trapper Education Division at 717-787-7015.

 

 

I LOST MY HUNTER EDUCATION CARD, CAN I GET A REPLACEMENT?

 

Hunter-Trapper Education course records dating back to 1987 are maintained on a computer database. Bowhunter Education course records dating back to 2000 and Cable Restraint / Furtaker Education records dating back to 2005 are also maintained. Quick and easy replacement is available online at www.ilostmycard.com. You can also call the Game Commission's replacement card fulfillment center at 1-800-830-2268 (Monday through Friday, from 9:30 a.m. to 1:00 a.m.) for assistance in obtaining a replacement certificate. If you took a hunter or trapper education course before the above dates, you must complete a Hunter Education Program Replacement Certificate Affidavit (PDF) form, which can be downloaded from this site. The affidavit must be completed, signed and notarized before it is returned to the address found on the form. Replacement certificates are usually mailed in 10 to 14 days upon receipt of an application. NOTE: Effective July 1, 2013; a $16 fee is charged for issuing a hunter education replacement certificate.

 

 

Resources For Instructors